Pi = 3.14159265… Pie=OMG/purejoy

March 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

People say that you don’t need an occasion to celebrate. Your waitress will sell you another cocktail and say you deserve it. People write, “Happy Tuesday,” or Wednesday, or whatever, at the close of an e-mail, making the day seem special. So it would appear that there’s a lot of enthusiasm for spontaneous celebration. But how often do people actually make good on holidays that aren’t mainstream? Hm?

Me, I love to celebrate (who doesn’t), but I’ve always felt like I need a reason to do so. Granted, that reason can be totally ridiculous, but as long as there is a reason, it makes sense to me and actually makes me even more enthused. So, last Monday, it was National Cereal Day (according to Mr. Breakfast) so I ate a gigantic bowl of Cheerios with bananas and almond milk for breakfast. This Thursday, I will drink a Guiness and eat potatoes in some form. And today? Today I eat pie. It is, of course, March 14th today. Birthday of Einstein. Middle of March. And the beginning digits of pi, the mathematical constant whose value is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its diameter. Ms. Podowski taught me that. So that’s pi for you.

And here’s pie to me: I knew I wanted to celebrate Pi Day. What I wasn’t sure about was which flavor I ought to get. I drove to Joseph’s in Stillwater (a family restaurant known for their legendary pies). I knew I’d come to the right place when the gentleman behind the desk confirmed that he was aware of Pi Day. (He should’ve been more excited though. I mean, come on. Pi Day. Pi Day. Brilliant.) The gentleman advised me to get the chocolate caramel pie, which did look really exceptional. However, it had a cream cheese filling, so, technically, I think it’s cheesecake in pie’s clothing. I wanted a classic pie. Well—-if that’s what I wanted, I told myself, I better just get classic, all American apple pie. So that’s just what I did.

I took it back to the house, put the pie on a plate, and because the giddy happiness and kid-like joy from celebrating a dessert/math holiday had gone to my head, I did a kind of silly thing: I took a few portraits.

Here is apple pie with a backdrop of royal purple wallpaper: Here is apple pie, plain and simple, traversing the hardwood floor: And here is apple pie: classically reclining in perfect afternoon light: Ohhh, what can I say? I get a little carried away when I’m allowed to celebrate something obscure and food-related. Last year I got my friends in Montauban all psyched to celebrate. There were not 2, not 3, not even 4, but 5! Five pies on my kitchen table to honor pi. We totally pigged out. I made the famous apple and gruyère cheese pie from the amazing TV series “Pushing Daisies”: Graham made this savory steak pie: Becky made another savory pie with chicken: Tanya made banoffy pie (Wow, for anyone who’s never tasted this: run, don’t walk, ok?): And Libby’s pie was a chocolate pudding pie in a cookie crust that never really gelled. We ate hers with spoons like it was soup. The best chocolate pie soup I’ve ever had. So here’s to celebrating miscellaneous food holidays, everyone. It just makes so much sense. Why not? You know? I don’t think it takes much arm-twisting to convince most people they ought to eat pie though. Well, I hope most of you did, or will some time in the near future. Happy Pi Day!

§ One Response to Pi = 3.14159265… Pie=OMG/purejoy

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pi = 3.14159265… Pie=OMG/purejoy at Still Life With Cupcake.

meta

