Crackin’ Down

February 23, 2011 § 3 Comments

Things have been serious lately. I mean, I’ve been taking inventory of all my furniture, all the bulky things and thoughts that fill the room of my life. Under my clear green visor, I’m counting with precision and not so much as a smirk.

Is it a seasonal thing catching up with me? My car, Chuck, was buried under a fresh mound of snow this week. Snow that canceled two rendez-vous of mine. This is serious. But it doesn’t have to be.

I like to think of Tom Robbins when life gets too stiff and constricted. He’s great to loosen things up, oil those joints, think outside the box, etc . Here’s something from Skinny Legs & All: “She decided that there were things in this world upon which it was best not to dwell lest they attach themselves to one’s keel like barnacles, and slowly cause one to leak, to list, and eventually to sink.”

So I’m sick of this straight jacket. There are a couple things I’d like to see: cracking of ice as it melts on the lakes and the cracking of more smiles. Oh look: crackers.

So, to spell out the very obvious metaphor here, I decided to make my own crackers. Half of them were plain and half had toasted sesame seeds in the dough. I’m a big fan of cheese and crackers (with all their fancy friends: olives, dried meats, dried fruit, jams and honey). Instead of ripping open another box of my old stand-by crackers, I made my own dough. I chilled the dough in the fridge for an hour or so, then rolled it out in long strips, coated it with a egg-and-soy-sauce wash, and threw them in the oven. Either I didn’t roll my dough thin enough (probably), or I added too much baking soda, because these guys had less of a crunch and crack, and more of a wimpy snap. Well if my crackers can loosen up, maybe I can too. Crackers, anyway, are just vehicles for different creamy cheeses and spreads. With that in mind, they turned out perfectly. That’s a blueberry stilton cheese on that plate. So good. Didn’t blend so well with sesame seeds and soy sauce, but went well with the plane-jane crackers.

I’ve got to say, it’s hard to shake off the winter numbness, the doldrums, the strict severity that comes with long days indoors, sitting down, looking outside. (Man, seriously, I think I’m suffering from a major case of seasonal depression!) But I’m determined to get sillier, go where the laughter is, and seek out the positive.

Let me close with this positively abstract drawing I made of my homemade crackers:

§ 3 Responses to Crackin’ Down

  • Les says:

    Ahh the only thing missing in the picture with the blue cheese would be a marvelous Ramos Pinto Late Bottled Vintage Porto 2004 (current release)…..ahh food and wine….the answer to many snow filled evenings!
    Cheers

  • Creepy. I made my first batch of homemade crackers on Sunday! Our recipe craving stars must be aligned. Mine were olive oil whole wheat topped with toasted sesame and gros sel… same problem though of not having that awesome crackery crunch though 😦
    Big biz girl.

  • Kelli says:

    Mmm, port would be awesome indeed! Just went to a port tasting last night, so I’ve got sweet post-dinner porto on my mind. Yum.

    And, Jess–I love that we’re on the same culinary wave length. I heard that double-baking the crackers will give an extra crunch. Maybe we ought to try that?
    Biz à toi aussi!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crackin’ Down at Still Life With Cupcake.

meta

