Cupcakes & Not-So-Single Ladies

September 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

I had a long list of things to do. It circulated on ticker tape at the bottom of the screen in my head: Are your bags packed for Portland? Do you have your cupcakes baked for Sies’s bachelorette party tonight? Do you have your toothbrush? Which podcasts will you listen to on the plane? Did you make Sies a card? What will you write?

I started with the cupcakes. When in doubt, right? So my recipe was vegan because my friend, Anna can’t eat dairy. Now, I don’t know what it is about vegan stuff, but for some reason, I usually like it way more than ordinary old stick-o-butter bakery. When I worked at French Meadow Café, I would covet the day-old vegan scones before anyone else could. They would sit in a big basket, tied in plastic, waiting for someone to adopt them, and I would swoop in before so much as saying Good Morning to my co-workers or getting that all-important first cup of coffee.

I had forgotten my passion for vegan treats. Rediscovered it in a heartbeat: These were basic chocolate vegan cupcakes, but if I had had some on hand, I would have crumbled up Oreo’s and put ’em inside. Goll, that would’ve been awesome. Although, I gotta say—these little vegan cake-ems could hold their own against standard chocolate cake any day of the week, one little cupcake hand tied behind their….back? And seriously, with this soy milk, saturated-with-vanilla-and-sugar frosting? Killa Kupcakes.

Right. So these were for a Bachelorette Party. This was to be my first, and maybe I didn’t have my mind in the gutter, as I should have. Here’s the X-Rated version of my poor vegan cakes. The little guys didn’t see that blow comin’ : Aaaaaand I’m sorry that I had to go there. But there you have it.

And so it goes: four 25-year old women ran around Minneapolis eating hamburgers, analyzing art, playing with Ballpark Franks & nylon stockings, then stuffing our faces with vegan cupcakes. (And I gotta say, my cupcakes were head over  heels better than the red vel-what? complimentary cupcake they gave Sies at the burger joint. It was like something you’d find in the Super America Bakery department (which, actually, I have a soft spot for. Can’t beat those cake donuts before catching the 134 into Minneapolis from St. Paul on a cold morning. Ah, memories…) Anyway, here’s what my cupcakes totally trumped: And here’s the city that will make any gal feel like a princess when she’s celebrating her fleeting singledom pre-matrimony in late August:

Bright lights, big cupcakes.

…and I should mention I’m going on a blog rampage to write about all the amazing things I tasted in bakeries all over Portland, Maine. I just returned and was so incredibly pleased with what I found by way of bread, sugar, and butter. Preview: Mmmmmaine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cupcakes & Not-So-Single Ladies at Still Life With Cupcake.

meta

