The Rainy Brunch

August 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

Two surprises today: this morning’s fulminous skies and sudden torrential downpour, and then, the more pleasant surprise brunch at Lucia’s in Minneapolis. I showed up to the restaurant (one of my absolute favorites) expecting to learn how to can jam and salsa. Words cannot express the peaks of my bliss when I found out that we were going to be fed, too. I almost hugged the poor woman who led me to the horseshoe table attended with fellow foodie media types and a beautiful spread.

I love the occasional perks of working for a food magazine. Writing for Edible Twin Cities makes me feel like a celebrity now and then. I was given a laminated name tag (my head immediately swells; I don’t think I can throw this away). I was given a chair and a cup of coffee right away…then a glass of fresh orange juice, a slice of tomato-chive quiche with sweet corn salsa, fresh fruit, and…oh, the bakery stuff!! I swoon for Lucia’s baked goods. Perfect pop-overs that I spread blueberry-rhubarb (blubarb) jam on, toasted almond scones, blueberry muffins, and my favorite: these little muffins called (I think) Budapest muffins. They basically taste like someone took a cinnamon roll, tapped it twice with a magic wand, and transformed it into a muffin.

So, yes, I did actually learn a thing or two about canning: preserving jellies, jams, salsas, tomato sauces, etc. Yes, I wrote up a little report on the canning kit that was presented at the demo. What I keep salivating over is that Budapest-Whatever muffin that I totally snarfed. If at all possible, you gotta get over to Lucia’s to give it a taste: Mmmm…In other news, life in the boondocks (aka, Lake Elmo, MN) is drizzly, humid, and sultry in the crepuscular hours of the day. I am getting used to enjoying a glass of moderately-priced-to-dirt-cheap-priced wine around 5:30 everyday, while I poke through papers that accumulate on my desk. Page through the stacks for writing opportunities. Daydream about my next pastry… Actually, I’m thinking my next attempt will be a loaf of homemade, hand-kneaded bread. The last time I baked my own bread, it went decently, and I’m at a loss as to why I stopped there. It was a delicious rosemary-&-olive loaf. It’s time to try again and see what comes out of the oven.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Rainy Brunch at Still Life With Cupcake.

meta

